header5 header6 image1 layers1 nesac1

Information Contents in SILKS

The SILKS has been developed for each of the selected 108 districts. It has 16 major non-spatial modules and 4 spatial modules, which are grouped into three categories, namely Planning Services, Other Services and Natural Resources Management. The available modules under Planning Services are Silkworm Food Plants Production Technologies, Techniques of Rearing Silkworm, Diseases and Pest Management of Silkworm Food Plants, Improved Varieties of Silkworm Food Plants, Species of Silkworm, Processing of Cocoons, Infrastructure and Equipments and Allied Sectors and Occupations. The Other Service has modules like Micro Credit and Self Help Group, Seri Marketing, Seed Distribution Centres, Weaving Reeling Centres and Schemes & Grants for Farmers.

All the spatial data and corresponding statistics under the projects have been placed into four modules namely, Potential Sites for Silkworm Food Plants, Soil Map, Climate and Utility Map. The spatial modules have more than 950 spatial layers of information. The Open source software packages have been customized and were used to develop these modules to enable the user visualize, zoom-in, zoom-out, pan, identify spatial features, query and print the map information etc..



Partner Institutes

Andhra Pradesh: Andhra Pradesh State Remote Sensing Applications Centre | Assam: Assam Remote Sensing Application Centre (ARSAC); National Institute of Sensing Rural Development-NER | Arunachal Pradesh:  State Remote Sensing Applications Centre, Arunachal Pradesh | Bihar: Bihar Remote Sensing Application Centre | Chhattisgarh: Chhattisgarh Council of Science and Technology | Himachal Pradesh: Remote Sensing Cell, Himachal Pradesh State Council of Science and Technology  | Jammu and Kashmir: Directorate of Ecology, Environment and Remote Sensing, J&K | Jharkhand: Jharkhand Space Application Centre | Karnataka: Karnataka State Remote Sensing Application Centre | Kerala: Kerala State Remote Sensing & Environment Centre | Madhya Pradesh: M.P. Council of Science & Technology | Maharashtra: Maharashtra Remote Sensing Applications Centre | Manipur: Manipur Remote Sensing Application Centre | Meghalaya: North Eastern Space Applications Centre | Mizoram: Mizoram Remote Sensing Application Centre | Nagaland: Nagaland Council of Science and Technology | Orissa: Orissa Space Applications Centre | Punjab: Punjab Remote Sensing Application Centre | Sikkim: Sikkim Council of Science and Technology | Tamil Nadu: Institute of Remote Sensing, Anna University | Tripura: Tripura Space Application Centre |  Uttar Pradesh: State Remote Sensing Application Centre, U.P. | Uttarakhand: Uttarakhand Space Application Centre | West Bengal: West Bengal Council of Science & Technology

Copyright 2013. Designed and Developed by North Eastern Space Applications Centre